Click on cover to enlarge

large product photo

bob snider



1. As I Went To The Harbor - Ar a Ghabháil'n Chuain Domh
2. Nancy, My Precious Love - Neansaí Mhile Grá
3. I Shall Leave This Place Now- Fuígfidh Mise an Baile Seo
4. Return, Return, My Darling-Fil, Fill, A Rún Ó
5. Lonesome And Troubled - Cianach Corrach
6. Young Dónall - Dónall Óg
7. Carn tSiail Delusion- Seachrán Charn Tsiail
8. The Mermaid - An Mhaighdean Mhara
9. The Little Cuckoo of Gleann Neifin- Cuaichín Ghleann Neifín ]
10. Úrchnoc Chéin Mhic Cáinte
11. The First Tuesday of Autumn-An Chéad Mháirt de Fhómhar
12. It's Not Their Concern - Cad é Sin Don Té Sin


The Donegal Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking district) of Gweedore is well known for its rich musical traditions. The roots of many fine musicians, like Enya of Clannad fame and Mairead ní Mhaonaigh of Altan, are to be found here.

Loinneog Cheoil was Aoife ní Fhearraigh’s debut recording with the Irish group Dervish, released in 1991 on cassette only and unavailable for many years. Aoife decided to re-record this classic album, and asked Manus Lunny of Capercaillie to produce it. Manus also plays guitar, bouzouki, and keyboards on this new recording of Loinneog Cheoil, which features two new tracks.

Mad River Records is pleased and proud to make this classic Irish-language recording available for the first time in North America. 

"When I think of Aoife ní Fhearraigh singing I think of sweetness, clarity, beauty, and quality... A lovely choice of songs... Manus Lunny’s empathy with the songs has enhanced the arrangement and production of this album."
- Mairead ní Mhaonaigh (Altan)